Reviews for Deter Natural Insect Repellent®, 2 oz
Bob Foster – June 23, 2015
Due to amazing amounts of spring rain and very dense grass concentrations, we are having the world’s worst mosquito season in eastern Idaho. On Monday I taught a day-long 4H program in the woods near Ashton, Idaho and the bugs were incredibly prolific to say the least. I had taken a ziplock bag of Deter wipes that you sent me last year just to show and demo for the students. We used every one, as they were the only thing that worked. Will be taking a good supply to Canada, Alaska and the Yukon in Sept. Thank you for a terrific product!
Bob Foster – June 23, 2015 / MS, WEMT, NAEMT, AEMT 2011, Director of Emergency Medical Services, Fremont County, Idaho
Cooky – June 23, 2015
Deter insect repellent is perfect for the family. Didn’t cause allergies(might be cause of it’s natural ingredients). It is not irritating like other repellent, infact it has a soothing feeling everytime we applied it. My family didn’t have a single mosquito bite the whole time we were using it. Glad we tried and have recommended it to family and friends.
Cooky – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
The Travelers – June 23, 2015
My family and I went to a remote island where there were lots of mosquitoes especially at nights. My husband and I also used this on our 2 yr old daughter. We even applied it on her face. Deter Natural Insect Repellent worked great! We did not get a single bite. We brought our 2 oz bottle and the 3 of us used it for 4 nights and we have a lot more left. A little goes a long way. I highly recommend this product!
The Travelers – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Dave – June 23, 2015
I purchased this product for use while I would go on my weekly trail rides since the bugs love to come out during the evening. I used to have issues while going on my hikes with bugs but after I used Deter those pesky little bugs disappeared! Great product that I shared with all my trailing riding buddies!
Dave – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Chris – June 23, 2015
Love this repellent! It smells good and a little will last a long time. I used Deter when hiking last month and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. With no harsh chemicals its safe for my kids and they they are much happier when the mosquitoes leave them alone. This is as effective if not more effective than the last few Deet repellents we’ve used.
Chris – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Gayla – April 20, 2015
I was visiting a ranch and had forgotten to bring insect repellant. The owner gave me a little sample spray bottle of her Deter, and I will now be a faithful user. Although it is entirely plant-based oils, it was not an icky oily feel, it felt very smooth to the touch. If you live in a very dry climate, you will absolutely love this, and if you suffer from dry skin, it will be incredibly soothing. I have oily skin and it does not bother me one bit. And it smells wonderful!
Gayla – April 20, 2015
SRodriguez – May 31, 2013
I am a forever customer of Deter Insect Repellent!

Last summer, I went on a church mission’s trip to Haiti. Before going, I bought two bottles of Deter Insect Repellent, along with all kinds of other insect repellent products. When we got to our destination, it was obvious we would need as much insect repellent as possible, so we all applied our wristbands, lotions, and sprays. We were sleeping on thin mattresses outside, on the ground, in the open air. I sprayed the Deter on my mattress and all around on the ground, as well as all over me! After the first day without a bite, I took off the repellent wristbands, stopped using the lotions and sprays and used only the Deter and everyone in my group was using Deter spray. This became a ritual for all of us during our stay there. I did not get any bites all week! The last night in Haiti I didn’t apply any Deter and I lost count on how many bites I got! After that, I was sold on Deter! I came home and bought more to have at home.

I would highly recommend Deter Insect Repellent to everyone! It is a great product, it keeps the bugs away, and it has a pleasant fragrance (instead of that bug spray smell). It is now a “must have” on any trips I take!

SRodriguez – May 31, 2013
Jamerican – May 31, 2013
I ordered Deter Insect Repellent for my trip to Jamaica. My husband and I were happy with the nice minty smell which makes it unisex. It doesn’t smell like chemicals mixed with harsh perfumes like the other insect repellents. We have been to Jamaica so many times and often get bit by nasty mosquitoes or worse…the nasty no see ums that stay with you for weeks. However, with Deter Insect Repellent, we did not come back with any bites this time. Try it, you will like it. My niece and her best friend who were traveling bought their own insect repellent but used ours instead because of the minty smell and they saw how it was really working on my husband and I. This stuff really works!
Jamerican – May 31, 2013 / Review located on amazon.com
Renes – May 31, 2013
“My wife and I are both mosquito magnets and we react badly to bites. We tried Deter and were shocked at how well it worked. The smell is great, it doesn’t leave a sticky or greasy residue and I love that it is all natural. We can now enjoy summer evenings on our patio without worrying about mosquitoes. This product has exceeded all expectations.”
Renes – May 31, 2013
Jeffp – May 31, 2013
I wanted to get a Deet free repellent to use on my children who are 2 and 4. We live in an area with plenty of mosquitoes and ticks. Deter works great. We are very happy with this product!
Jeffp – May 31, 2013 / Review located on amazon.com
Victor10 – May 31, 2013
Product works great. The mosquitoes were swarming, but we did not get a single bite. Worked all day and it smelled great as well. Fantastic.
Victor10 – May 31, 2013 / Review located on amazon.com
Reviews for Deter Natural Insect Repellent®, 4 oz Family Size
C.H. – August 27, 2015
Love this repellent! It smells good and a little will last a long time. I used Deter when hiking last month and was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. With no harsh chemicals its safe for my kids and they they are much happier when the mosquitoes leave them alone. This is as effective if not more effective than the last few Deet repellents we’ve used.
C.H. – August 27, 2015
Papabah – June 23, 2015
Just returned from a week in the Bahamas. The mosquitoes and biting gnats were swarming. Everyone we talked to was complaining about getting bit. My wife and I used Deter and did not get a single bite! This is by far the best repellent I have used plus it smells great. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to areas where biting insects are a problem. Helped make our vacation much more enjoyable.
Papabah – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Joan – June 23, 2015
Deter was recommended by colleagues in California . After moving to Missouri on the lake, a bunch of new bugs took a liking to me. The DEET FREE was a big appeal and all natural is obviously best for the body. A little goes a long way. Using too much makes your skin feel a bit oily. It has a lavender oil scent which I like. One small bottle lasts over two years.
Joan – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Gayla M. – June 23, 2015
Mariner Biomedical’s Deter is an all-natural plant-based insect repellant that not only works great, it smells wonderful too! It’s made of plant oils, which you would think would make it oily, but it’s really not. When you spray it on and rub it in, it just feels smooth and silky. And it goes a long way too. I used to go through can after can of the DEET based products, but not so with DEET-free Deter. The 4 oz. bottle will last a very long time, and the 2 oz. bottle is perfect for keeping in your car. You’ll never have to worry again about being out in the evening unprotected against mosquitos if you keep a little bottle in the side pocket of your car door. It’s also safe for animals. I’ve got a friend who uses it on her dog and loves the fact that she’s not loading her dog up with chemicals. Give it a try, because I’m pretty sure you won’t regret it.
Gayla M. – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Bob Foster – October 13, 2014
Thank you again for sending the DETER product for field testing here in the Rocky Mountains. My EMS colleagues and I used the product in Yellowstone National Park, Grand Teton National Park, the National Elk Refuge, Green River recreation area (near Daniel, Wyoming), the Sawtooth Range in Idaho, and Teton River drainage in Idaho. Product results were outstanding. Our methodology was pretty simple; we put the DETER product on one arm and REPEL and/or Deep Woods OFF on the other and compared landing rates and numbers of bites. The OFF and REPEL arms had consistently higher rates of landings and bites than the DETER arm. We also compared informal “how many bugs are buzzing around you” tests and had much better results with the DETER product. That fact that DETER is a natural insect repellant was very attractive to those we talked to about the “test”. I know this isn’t very scientific but the bottom line was relative relief rates from the buzzing pests! I’m going fishing and caribou hunting in Alaska next fall and will give the product the “Alaska test”. Also have a doctor friend that lives in Minnesota (Alaska mosquitoes go to Minnesota to grow up) and sent him some packets to try.
Bob Foster – October 13, 2014 / Director of Emergency Medical Services, Fremont County, Idaho
Ryan Rombough – July 12, 2014
I was given a bottle of this to test during my 9 month trip through Asia. Deter is the first non-deet repellant that I have used that truly works. It kept the hungry Asian mosquitoes at bay and kept me malaria free!

I only had a small bottle and it ran out a few months before the end of my trip. I used a variety of natural repellants after that, but had to revert to deet because the natural products didn’t work. Now that I’m back in the states I’m ordering more! I definitely recommend Deter.

Ryan Rombough – July 12, 2014
Laura I. – July 1, 2014
We live in the foothills with all sorts of flying and crawling bugs. We entertain a lot in the backyard and I want to provide my guests with an insect repellent that is family friendly and deet free so that they can enjoy their time with us! Deter Insect Repellent has been the answer! you dont need much, everyone can use it, it has a nice scent. I also use the canine version on my dog! We use it indoors at night to prevent bug bites. I have also used the towelettes to wipe down the screen door frame for extra control!
Laura I. – July 1, 2014
Tom C. – May 12, 2014
I visited my mother in upstate New York last August and gave her a sample of your product. She was having problem with bees on her deck and she sprayed Deter along the rails and had no problem with the bees after that. So I want to thank you for helping her enjoy her deck during the summer.
Tom C. – May 12, 2014
jamerican – May 13, 2012
I ordered Deter Insect Repellent for my trip to Jamaica. My husband and I were happy with the nice minty smell which makes it unisex. It doesn’t smell like chemicals mixed with harsh perfumes like the other insect repellents. We have been to Jamaica so many times and often get bit by nasty mosquitoes or worse…the nasty no see ums that stay with you for weeks. However, with Deter Insect Repellent, we did not come back with any bites this time. Try it, you will like it. My niece and her best friend who were traveling bought their own insect repellent but used ours instead because of the minty smell and they saw how it was really working on my husband and I. This stuff really works!
jamerican – May 13, 2012 / Review located on amazon.com
renes – May 13, 2012
“My wife and I are both mosquito magnets and we react badly to bites. We tried Deter and were shocked at how well it worked. The smell is great, it doesn’t leave a sticky or greasy residue and I love that it is all natural. We can now enjoy summer evenings on our patio without worrying about mosquitoes. This product has exceeded all expectations.”
renes – May 13, 2012
jeffp – May 13, 2012
I wanted to get a Deet free repellent to use on my children who are 2 and 4. We live in an area with plenty of mosquitoes and ticks. Deter works great. We are very happy with this product!
jeffp – May 13, 2012 / Review located on amazon.com
victor10 – May 13, 2012
Product works great. The mosquitoes were swarming, but we did not get a single bite. Worked all day and it smelled great as well. Fantastic.
victor10 – May 13, 2012 / Review located on amazon.com
Reviews for Deter Natural Insect Repellent® Towelette 10 Pack
Kristen – August 27, 2015
These insect repellent wipes work great. Living in North Carolina mosquito bites and ticks are a constant concern in the spring/summer. I pack these wipes in my kids backpacks so they can re-apply insect repellent at school or summer camp. The wipes are easy for them to use and they love the smell. I appreciate the fact that they are made of natural ingredients and don’t contain DEET.
Kristen – August 27, 2015
Amy S – June 23, 2015
These are super convenient and I can just throw them in my backpack. They are easy to use while hiking, I don’t need to worry about spills and I love the clean scent. As an avid hiker, I love use natural products that are good for me and for the environment.
Amy S – June 23, 2015 / Review located on walmart.com
Layne Oliver – July 23, 2014
Recently, I and a friend (Darin) went hiking up Utah’s North fork of the Provo River; it too is a buggy place! During our hike we encountered a strong force of Horse flies and they were interested in one thing i.e. our flesh! So we opened a DETER towelette and applied it to our bare skin i.e. lower legs, forearms, and neck then pressed on. Between our pace and the 90*F temps we were sweating pretty good, but the Repellant kept working! The horse flies left us alone for the entire seven mile hike although one or two lit long enough for a taste then zoomed off looking for some mouthwash. I can tell you that it was great not having to worry about horse flies, as I am sure you are aware that their bite really hurts. In the end we had a really good time!
Layne Oliver – July 23, 2014
Heidi Stieh, Canada – July 23, 2014
Thank-you for your response. I have to tell you, after my DETER samples ran out (and trust me, I squeezed every drop out of those towelettes!), I went in search of “natural” repellants and found that every store I checked (large chains) carried primarily OFF brand products and had no repellants that I found that did not contain DEET. As there were no alternatives, we broke down and tried an OFF product. The OFF product results were really underwhelming and did not stop the biting flies as the DETER had. I’m so impressed with your product.
Heidi Stieh, Canada – July 23, 2014
Reviews for Deter Insect Repellent® Plus SPF 20 Sunscreen 4 oz Spray Bottle
Kristen – August 27, 2015
This stuff works great! I live in NC and use this when trail running. It makes applying sunscreen and insect repellent so much easier. I haven’t gotten any mosquito bites or ticks since using Deter. Especially appreciate that it is all natural and has a great fresh smell!
Kristen – August 27, 2015
Carolyn – June 23, 2015
Product works well for insects. Only need a small amount as it goes a long way. The smell is only downfall. So I suggest using small amount. Do spray heavy amount, spray a small amount and rub in.
Carolyn – June 23, 2015 / Review located on amazon.com
Brian – June 23, 2015
Kind of slimy. Plan a shower when using this. Also a lot of nats died on my arm when cycling with this stuff on. (Iowa).
Brian – June 23, 2015 / Review located on amazon.com
Amy S – June 23, 2015
This product is amazing and makes life much easier in terms of getting out the door with my daughter. Instead of having to torture her with applying sunscreen and mosquito repellent separately, I can easily apply both at once. Because of the one negative review complaining about the smell and recommending Bullfrog instead, I was a little skeptical but I am glad I ignored that review…the smell is light and pleasant and I feel so much better putting something all natural on my daughter rather than a mass produced product filled with chemicals. We live in Washington, DC where there are a lot of mosquitos and Deter works as advertised keep the bugs away and protecting my daughter’s fair skin. I love this and have actually bought more to give to friends.
Amy S – June 23, 2015 / Review located on amazon.com
Reviews for Deter Insect Bite Therapy
Victor10 – August 27, 2015
I had several large mosquito bites after a camping trip. Decided to try this product as I was really itchy and wanted the bites gone ASAP.

I applied the therapy to each bite before going to sleep. Upon waking, I took a look at my bites. The inflammation was completely dissipated. They had been reduced to extremely small specks on my skin, hardly noticeable. Also, the itching was completely gone.

I highly recommend this product as after one application I noticed a drastic improvement. The bites were virtually gone

Victor10 – August 27, 2015
Marjorie M. – September 8, 2014
Unfortunately, I am one of those that has rather severe reactions to bug bites (itching, aching, swelling, bruising, days of recovery.) After visiting you, I applied Deter Bug Bite Therapy to my very swollen, itching, aching bite. The itching and aching stopped within the first 5 minutes! I reapplied 4 hours later as a bit of the itching returned. By the next day the site was not swollen, and the discoloration was minimal. My normal recovery time of several days with a lingering healing bruise pattern, was non existent! I have been sharing this story with people ever since. Thank you for this product and saving me from future anguish of nasty bug bites that would otherwise plague me.
Marjorie M. – September 8, 2014
William L. Bearden – May 23, 2014
One day I had a really big mosquito bite and so I put the Deter bug bite therapy on it and in 2 minutes it stopped itching permanently and by the next morning, the bite was gone, I love it.
William L. Bearden – May 23, 2014
Renee E. of San Francisco, CA – September 18, 2012
I first used Mariner Biomedical’s bug bite therapy upon returning from a trip to Jamaica. I was completely covered in mosquito bites and extremely uncomfortable. I had so many bug bites on my legs that it hurt to walk. Luckily, a friend turned me onto Mariner Biomedical. The bug bite therapy worked wonders, I had no idea it would work as well as it did. The itching completely went away to the point that I forgot I had the bites in the first place. Even better is the fact that this stuff is eco-friendly and natural. I didn’t have to worry about what the solution was doing to my skin because it’s all natural. I also have the insect repellent, which is DEET free, a huge plus! I don’t travel anywhere without this stuff.
Renee E. of San Francisco, CA – September 18, 2012
Reviews for Deter Natural Mineral Sunscreen SPF 30 4 oz Tube
Victor10 – August 27, 2015
I was forced to be in direct sunlight for an afternoon so I decided to try this product. My overall experience using this sunscreen was positive. It didn’t have a strong smell, which was great. It was also really easy to use. Most importantly, I did not get sunburn. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting protection from the sun.
Victor10 – August 27, 2015
Monica B. – June 25, 2014
I applied the Deter Natural Mineral Sunscreen at the start of our school’s May Faire. I am fair skinned and easily burn. This one worked great and I love it!
Monica B. – June 25, 2014
Reviews for Deter All Natural Outdoor Soap
The Travelers – March 24, 2017
My family and I went camping last summer. We used it as a shampoo, body wash and hand soap and it was great! It was really hot and dry where we went and we loved that it left our hands and body feeling moisturized while enjoying the fresh citrus scent. We also used it to wash our swimsuits. Overall, we are very happy and satisfied with this product and won’t go camping without it.
The Travelers – March 24, 2017